Pro Golf Pointers

Elevate your golf game with Pro Golf Pointers! Discover expert advice, valuable tips, and proven strategies to enhance your skills on the fairway.

Home ยป Who Has Won the U.S. Open? The Champions by Year

Who Has Won the U.S. Open? The Champions by Year

Wyndham Clark’s victory at the 2023 U.S. Open showcased his relentless dedication and hard work off the course. Scottie Scheffler might be the world’s top golfer right now with five PGA TOUR wins this season, but he’s still chasing his first U.S. Open title.

Scheffler is geared up for the 124th U.S. Open, set to take place at Pinehurst Resort and Country Club’s No. 2 course in Pinehurst, North Carolina. As the overwhelming betting favorite, all eyes will be on him to see if he can finally clinch that elusive title.

Here’s a rundown of past U.S. Open champions: Wyndham Clark in 2023, Matt Fitzpatrick in 2022, Jon Rahm in 2021, Bryson DeChambeau in 2020, Gary Woodland in 2019, Brooks Koepka in 2018 and 2017, Dustin Johnson in 2016, Jordan Spieth in 2015, Martin Kaymer in 2014, Justin Rose in 2013, and Webb Simpson in 2012. Rory McIlroy secured his win in 2011, followed by Graeme McDowell in 2010, Lucas Glover in 2009, and Tiger Woods in 2008.

Notable champions from earlier years include: Angel Cabrera in 2007, Geoff Ogilvy in 2006, Michael Campbell in 2005, Retief Goosen in 2004 and 2001, Jim Furyk in 2003, Tiger Woods again in 2002, and Payne Stewart in 1999 and 1991. Ernie Els took home the trophy in 1997 and 1994, with other multiple-time winners such as Lee Janzen in 1998 and 1993, and Curtis Strange in 1989 and 1988.

The legendary Jack Nicklaus won in 1980, 1972, 1967, and 1962. Hale Irwin claimed his victories in 1990, 1979, and 1974. Tom Watson, Arnold Palmer, and Gary Player are among other iconic names etched into the U.S. Open’s history. The list extends back to the late 19th and early 20th centuries with winners like Harry Vardon in 1900 and Willie Anderson, who triumphed four times, including in 1905, 1904, 1903, and 1901.

The tournament saw cancellations during the World Wars, reflecting the global impact of those times. Despite these interruptions, the U.S. Open has remained a cornerstone of the golfing calendar, consistently attracting the sport’s top talent.

As the 124th U.S. Open approaches, the anticipation builds to see if Scottie Scheffler can join the illustrious list of champions. Each winner has left an indelible mark on the tournament’s storied history, and the next champion will undoubtedly continue that legacy.

Source: Espn


Paul Lewis is a lifelong golfing enthusiast who has dedicated his life to the game he loves. With a passion that has fueled his journey, Paul's unwavering commitment to golf has shaped him into a knowledgeable and experienced individual in the world of golf.

Back to top